Site Search & Directory »

[Link to]

Flax Growers of Ireland, 1796—County Monaghan—McGeoughs

The Spinning Wheel Premium Entitlement List of 1796, commonly known as the Flax Growers List, is a valuable resource of Irish land holders in the eighteenth century. Included in the list are the name of the flax grower and civil parish and county, but not the townland, in which the flax was grown.

"The Irish Linen Board published a list of nearly 60,000 individuals in 1796. Spinning wheels were awarded based on the number of acres planted. People who planted one acre were awarded 4 spinning wheels and those growing 5 acres were awarded a loom. Donegal and Tyrone had the highest number of awards. ... Also known as the Spinning Wheel list or the Flax Growers Bounty." Irish Flax Growers, 1796.

The list of flax seed growers in county Monaghan in 1796 included 19 McGeoughs and 1 McGough (John McGough, Donaghmoyne):

M'Geough Catherine Killanny Monaghan
M'Geough Edward Inishkeen Monaghan
M'Geough Francis Muckno Monaghan
M'Geough Francis, Jr. Muckno Monaghan
M'Geough Hugh Donaghmoyne Monaghan
M'Geough Laurence Inishkeen Monaghan
M'Geough Matthew Inishkeen Monaghan
M'Geough Michael Clontibret Monaghan
M'Geough Michael Inishkeen Monaghan
M'Geough Owen Clontibret Monaghan
M'Geough Patrick Donaghmoyne Monaghan
M'Geough Patrick Ematris Monaghan
M'Geough Patrick Muckno Monaghan
M'Geough Richard Errigal Trough Monaghan
M'Geough Rose Aghnamullen Monaghan
M'Geough Terence Donaghmoyne Monaghan
M'Geough Terence Ematris Monaghan
M'Geough Thomas Clontibret Monaghan
M'Geough William Aghnamullen Monaghan

M'Gough John Donaghmoyne Monaghan

Available at the Family History Library is: Linen list, county of Monaghan: a list of persons to whom premiums for sowing flax-seed in the year 1796 have been adjudged by the Trustees of the Linen Manufacture. Authors: Linen Office. Trustees of the Linen Board (Ireland) (Main Author). FHL BRITISH Film 1279238, item 21.

 Table of Contents 
  • Aghnamullen
  • Clontibret
  • Donaghmoyne
  • Ematris
  • Errigal Trough
  • Inishkeen
  • Killanny
  • Muckno
  • In the following sections, the families are arranged by parish:


    Rose McGeough (indexed on as Ross McGeough).

    William McGeough


    Michael McGeough

    Owen McGeough

    Thomas McGeough


    Hugh McGeough

    Patrick McGeough

    Terence McGeough

    John McGough


    Patrick McGeough

    Terence McGeough

    Errigal Trough

    Richard McGeough


    Edward McGeough

    Laurence McGeough

    Matthew McGeough

    Michael McGeough


    Catherine McGeough


    Francis McGeough

    Francis McGeough, Jr.

    Patrick McGeough


    Flax Growers of Ireland, 1796—County Monaghan—McGeoughs
    Updated July 29, 2011  
    [Link to] Feedback »
    Site Search & Directory »
    © 1999–2011 Hugh McGough »